Biden, presidential? “You betcha!”

World, please don’t wink at me, say the words “betcha,” “ain’t,” “darn,” or stare at me unblinkingly with a bemused, brainwashed-looking smile. If, however, you absolutely insist on making a hillbilly caricature of yourself in my presence, I may have to resort to physical violence to preserve my sanity. Last night’s cringe-inducing responses from the clearly unqualified Alaska governor Sarah Palin made me want to vomit, especially given the knowledge that she may be (God forbid!) President one day.

While Joe Biden gave strong, substantive, specific answers debunking the “maverick” myth, the “we’re reformers” myth, and the “we’re not like Bush” myth with a forceful but calm delivery, Palin transformed herself into a cartoon. The fact that she believes she can appeal to mainstream America by dumbing everything down is an insult.  Sarah dear, you can “say it ain’t so” all you want, but it’s fairly obvious that you have only a tangential grasp of policy at best, and that you were very well trained by those GOP ideologues that gave you those flashcards to practice with.

It’s interesting that now, Obama/Biden looks like the “safer” ticket to vote for, with the McCain/Palin ticket looking like a risk, which it is.

While Palin didn’t trip, start weeping, or throw her frameless glasses to the ground in frustration, she most certainly didn’t do well. Let’s look at this analytically: If Palin were a man, and if she hadn’t just had an incredibly embarrassing week, pundits would be tearing apart her performance en masse like my fat chihuahua tears apart my old beanie babies.

It’s clear which candidate looked ready to step in for the president if need be. I’ll give you a hint: It’s not the folksy cliche machine otherwise known as “Hockey Mom,” “Maverick,” or “Joe Sixpack.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://heymanda.wordpress.com/2008/10/03/biden-presidential-you-betcha/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I agree 100%. Listening to her not answer a question and then say I don’t want to answer that question I want to talk about Energy or Taxes gave me a headache. The buzzwords, hockey mom, joe six-pack, maverick, reform, gosh, gee, darn and all the winking only plays to the uninformed and small segment of the population. I’m clearly not in that list.

    I also found it interesting to listen to the spin the Republicans are doing. I would love someone to ask them to prove how Sarah Palin isn’t an Affirmative Action pick? Everything they say is proven to be unfactual.

    Hmm… that may be a good blog topic. “Sarah Palin – The Affirmative Action Candidate”. That should get them going.


Leave a Reply

