Bonjour!

Dear future readership,

Today is the maiden voyage of my blog, and because this is the first post I ever write, I want to discuss the mission of this blog.

Many women today think that, in order to be taken seriously, they must act/think/dress like men. I beg to differ! I propose that we embrace our femininity and all the things that make us so! Because I think you can be serious, smart and a girlie girl, I discuss politics, my obsession, as well as my experience with makeup, the dermatologist, hair care, clothes- whatever fits my mood. “Hey Manda!” is the Elle Woods of weblogs!

Today’s political topic is my frustration with conservatives in general. I am tired of hearing them extoll the same 30-year-old policies that simply don’t fit today’s society anymore! For example, the war in Iraq- it isn’t financially or socially responsible to spend $15 billion a month sending young men and women to die for a nonexistent cause. They say that we liberals are focusing on the past when we talk about the fact that getting into this war was a mistake. I disagree, because each time a life is lost, it calls to question the purpose for which they died. The nonexistent cause is in the present, and we can’t just brush it aside. Furthermore, we don’t have enough manpower to continue this war for an infinite number of years- a draft would have to be implemented. I don’t know about you, but the idea of my guy friends or a future boyfriend or my brother being sent to die for THIS war makes me sick. This is our generation that will fight this war if we elect John McCain, just as our generation will be paying off the war debt.

Girlie Stuff: What you should buy at the drugstore vs. department store:

Drugstore: mascara, because it only lasts for three months and then it starts to clump. Don’t spend a ton of money on it! By far the best mascara I’ve ever had (and I’ve owned up to seven mascaras at once) is Covergirl Lash Exact. Lipgloss is generally safe to buy at the drugstore, as is eyeliner. Translucent powder is ok here too.

Department store: foundation/concealer, because you NEED to try them on to make sure they match your skin perfectly. 90% of what’s out there is pink-toned, but only about 10% of people actually have pink-toned skin. Also, Clinique makes the best eye shadow, and their Superbalm lipgloss is the least sticky lipgloss I’ve ever tried!

Published in: on April 11, 2008 at 1:11 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://heymanda.wordpress.com/2008/04/11/bonjour/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Whoot! First Comment! =) AWESOME BLOG!!!


Leave a Reply

